From Berne

Crete

Mythology. Hippies. Taverns.

Crete' the largest island of Greece' is known for its diverse landscape. It ranges from the fine sandy beach in Elafonisi - Caribbean feeling guaranteed - to the White Mountains' the Ida Mountains. There you will also find the Idaean Grotto - according to Greek mythology the birthplace of Zeus. The renowned archaeological museum in the capital Heraklion with its Minoan artifacts and Knossos, a settlement from the Bronze Age, allows you to immerse yourself in another era.

For experienced hikers, the Samaria Gorge in the southwest is a must. At 17 kilometers long, it is one of the longest gorges in Europe and descends to the sea from an altitude of over 1200 meters. If you don't dare to do the hike, you can take the boat to Agia Roumeli and hike from there to the "Iron Gate", which is about four kilometers away.

In Mátala, a village on the south coast, there are extraordinary living caves to visit, which were dug in the soft porous rock of the bay in the Neolithic period. By the way, in the 1960's hippies from all over the world settled there and founded a large commune.

Numerous restaurants and taverns provide fresh fish' olives' goat cheese and typical Greek specialties such as giouvetsi' moussaka' gemista etc. for the well-being of guests and islanders. There is a lot to experience in Crete and Greek mythology seems to be omnipresent.

These flights are bookable at Helvetic Airways, Hotelplan Suisse, TUI Suisse or at the travel agency you trust.

Helvetic Airways

Hotelplan Suisse

TUI Suisse

Timetable

Airline
Dep.
Arr.
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
Su
Validity
2L 5300
08:25
12:10
 
 
 
 
 
 
13.07.2022 - 12.10.2022
2L 5300
15:40
19:25
 
 
 
 
 
 
09.07.2022 - 22.10.2022
Airline
Dep.
Arr.
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
Su
Validity
2L 5301
12:55
15:00
 
 
 
 
 
 
13.07.2022 - 12.10.2022
2L 5301
20:10
22:15
 
 
 
 
 
 
09.07.2022 - 22.10.2022

2L = Helvetic Airways

Ab Bern

Kreta

Mythologie. Hippies. Tavernen.

Kreta‚ die grösste Insel Griechenlands‚ ist für ihre vielfältige Landschaft bekannt. Sie reicht vom feinsandigen Strand in Elafonisi – Karibikfeeling garantiert – bis zu den Weissen Bergen‚ dem Ida-Gebirge. Dort befindet sich auch die Idäische Grotte – nach griechischer Mythologie der Geburtsort von Zeus. Das Eintauchen in eine andere Ära ermöglicht das renommierte archäologische Museum in der Hauptstadt Heraklion mit minoischen Artefakten‚ sowie Knossos‚ eine Siedlung aus der Bronzezeit.

Für geübte Wanderer ist die Samaria-Schlucht im Südwesten ein Muss. Mit 17 Kilometern Länge gehört sie zu den längsten Schluchten Europas und führt aus über 1200 m Höhe bis zum Meer hinab. Wer sich die Wanderung nicht zutraut‚ fährt mit dem Schiff nach Agia Roumeli und wandert von dort aus zur ca. vier Kilometer entfernten «Eisernen Pforte».

In Mátala‚ einem Dorf an der Südküste‚ gibt es aussergewöhnliche Wohnhöhlen zu begehen‚ welche in der Jungsteinzeit in das weiche‚ poröse Gestein der Bucht gegraben wurden. Übrigens‚ in den 1960er-Jahren siedelten sich dort die Hippies aus aller Welt an und gründeten eine grosse Kommune.

Zahlreiche Restaurants und Tavernen sorgen mit frischem Fisch‚ Oliven‚ Ziegenkäse und typisch griechischen Spezialitäten wie Giouvetsi‚ Moussaka‚ Gemista usw. für das Wohl der Gäste und Inselbewohner. Auf Kreta gibt es viel zu erleben und dabei scheint die griechische Mythologie allgegenwertig zu sein.

Flugplan

Airline
Ab
An
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
Gültigkeit
2L* 5300
08:20
12:10
 
 
 
 
 
 
02.09.2020 - 07.10.2020
2L* 5300
10:30
14:20
 
 
 
 
 
 
30.08.2020 - 11.10.2020
Airline
Ab
An
Mo
Di
Mi
Do
Fr
Sa
So
Gültigkeit
2L* 5301
12:55
15:05
 
 
 
 
 
 
02.09.2020 - 07.10.2020
2L* 5301
15:05
17:15
 
 
 
 
 
 
30.08.2020 - 11.10.2020

2L* = flyBAIR operated by Helvetic Airways